On the 20th November 2022, we celebrate our 100 years!  What a wonderful achievement – plans are being developed to celebrate this magnificent milestone.

The Club has a long and proud history, with our first Club Champion Fred Courtis being crowned in 1925/26. A past AFL Brownlow Medallist, Geelong footballer Cargie Greeves, won our singles championship twice, in 1940/41 and 1941/42. Over the years there have been some great names playing for the Square, including Frank Johns (9 singles championships), Tom Barri (7) and Bob Campbell (5).

Golden Square has won many Bendigo Association pennants, including four consecutive A1 pennants in 1960, 1961, 1962 and 1963.

In the 2013-14 season, we scooped the pool with Division 1 winning Saturday pennant (the first premiership pennant in 51 years) and Division 1 Midweek pennant also winning the premiership.

The Club is steeped in history and today the Bulldog spirit is alive and well.

The Club had 6 teams playing Saturday pennant in 2021/22 (Division 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9) and four teams playing Mid-week (Divisions 1, 2, 3 & 4). With the Saturday Div 3 team winning the 2021 Grand Final, our weekend teams for next season are likely to include a Premier Division and Div 1 teams.

All up, our membership including social members is around 200 and growing all the time.